Reflections on the Women’s March on Washington Part 2

Reflections on the Women’s March on Washington Part 2

Sapelo Square

My Body, My Choice!!!

By Ieasha Prime

My, Body, My Choice! Watching, hijab-clad young women march next to middle-aged white feminists while shouting this phrase sent shock waves through the Muslim community. Some scrambled for answers to questions such as, “Can we say that?” Are our women siding with “them”? “Have we lost our Muslim mind?” This scurrying for the answer caused me to contemplate the moment when I stood beside my son in the middle of this massive, spiritually charged and contagious crowd. I remember when this chant my body, my choicebegan, I paused and looked at him for about 5 seconds and he looked back in my eyes for an answer to “how do we respond to this one?”

Three seconds later, I yelled at the top of my lungs, “My Head, My Choice!” Women and men around me stopped and looked directly at me wearing my three-colored hijab. Realizing the…

View original post 428 more words

Leave a Reply

