Sweetness of Faith

Sweetness of Faith

Today the girls and I didn’t go to Jumuah, but listened to a live stream.  What a pleasure…

The Imam spoke of the sweetness of faith from this hadith:

Narrated Anas bin Malik (RadhiAllahu ‘anhu), The Prophet (SAW) said:

“Whoever possesses the following three qualities will taste the sweetness of faith:

1. The one to whom Allah and His Apostle become dearer than anything else.
2. Who loves a person and he loves him only for Allah’s sake.
3. Who hates to revert to disbelief after Allah has brought him out from it, as he hates to be thrown in fire.”

[Sahih Bukhari – Book 2, Hadith 20]

To personalize it:

  1. The one to whom Allah and His Apostle become dearer than anything else;Do we do things to please people in disobedience to Allah? e.g, someone says let’s do lunch and it’s salat time, and I say to myself  “well, I’ll make salat when we get back, because I don’t want to make her wait” even if by then salat time would be over. Then we love them more than Allah.  May Allah protect us from that. Ameen.  Do we want to imitate the Prophet (SAW) in what he did or how he lived? If we love him then we will want to be like him. (reminder for myself- What sunnah do I implement with the intention to be like the Prophet(SAW)? Action plan- do a sunnah with the intention to imitate the Prophet(SAW)- not out of routine )
  2. The one who loves a person and he loves him only for Allah’s sake.  This one is because we do not look for anything in return for our association with the person. actually I used to be a bit offended when someone said this to me, and considered this to mean I had no value to them. But after this khutbah it is more clear that it means that the person speaking is saying out of kindness that we do not owe them anything in return for their love.  So if we have a rich friend and we love them for the sake of Allah,  they do not need to give us one cent as a friend.  If we have a successful friend we only want them to succeed more; not to give any worldly reward for our friendship.  Now I can finally say this with understanding and sincerity. Alhamdu lillahi.
  3. The one who hates to return to disbelief after Allah has saved him from it as he  hates to be thrown in fire.  This hits home for many reverts who have experienced life without Islam.  What an empty existence. May Allah save us from a return to  disbelief, ameen Allahumma ameen.

The Imam also likened faith to biting into a fruit.  The outside of the fruit is bitter, so if we just approach our deen from the surface (visible actions without sincerity) we cannot taste how sweet the real fruit is that is inside- think watermelon and oranges.  I also remember the words of a sister Amina Wadud who once during a keynote speech said to BE Muslim is far more important than to LOOK Muslim. That was too many years ago, but it stuck with me because it rings true.

Thank you for your time, and let’s continue to pray for success for our ummah, ameen.

7 thoughts on “Sweetness of Faith

    1. wa alaikum as salaam wa Rahmatullaahi wa Barakaatuh
      I son’t think we know each other. I just started writing on WordPress as a way to express myself and possibly reach other people, as opposed to the many journals that lie hidden in various bags, boxes and bookshelves in my house only to be discovered by my family when I’m gone. So upon joining WordPress I set out to find the other Muslimahs (of course) and read their work and followed. I only have “My Rahmatales” as an account. Haven’t been able to expand much more, but in time i do look forward to a much more engaging blog.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Now that I’ve seen the rules I’m very excited to answer those questions for me. So… thank you for including me. In shaa Allah I’ll be back soon.

        Like

      2. are you serious? I WANT to answer! I just have to work on format. I tried for a while to get that blue sky as a feature photo, but to no avail… i thought and thought about a book or movie that made me cry and finally remembered one… this morning I was contemplating my dream job. 🙂 It may not be pretty, but my answers are on their way bi ithni Allah!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

